• uslawyersforyou@gmail.com
  • 08168129752 | +6514977559

NCLEX (National Council Licensure Examination)

The NCLEX (National Council Licensure Examination) is a nationwide examination for licensing nurses in  the United States.  All graduates of Nursing in the United States take the NCLEX-RN examination, prior to receiving a nursing license. The nursing license gives an individual the permission to practice nursing, and is granted by the US state where a nurse meets the requirements for practice.

All Boards of Nursing in the 50 US states and US-controlled territories require candidates to pass the NCLEX-RN examination for licensure as a registered nurse (RN).

Components or test areas on the US NCLEX-RN examination include:

1)    Safe and Effective Care Environment

2)    Management of Care

3)    Safety and Infection Control

4)    Health Promotion and Maintenance

5)    Psychosocial Integrity

6)    Physiological Integrity

7)    Basic Care and Comfort

8)    Pharmacological and Parenteral Therapies

9)    Reduction of Risk Potential

10)  Physiological Adaptation

The body in charge of the NCLEX examination is the NCSBN (National Council of State Boards of Nursing). This organization makes regular changes to the format of the examination by analyzing the current nursing practices. They do this by surveying thousands of recently-licensed nurses about different nursing activities which appear on the NCLEX. The NCSBN analyzes these nursing activities based on how frequent the activity may occur, how it could impact the client’s safety, and the location of these activities. The NCSBN conducts these analyses every three years, then makes any needed changes to the exam.

NCLEX examinations are provided in a computerized adaptive testing (CAT) format.


To Learn More, Visit:  ncsbn.org